← Browse Champion Pack 2
Magical Dimension - CP02-EN011 - Rare - Unlimited Edition
Out Of Stock
Rulings powered by The Netrep API. Tributing a monster for 'Magical Dimension' is not a cost it's part of the effect and happens when the effect resolves. If the effect of 'Magical Dimension' is negated then you do not Tribute a monster. You don't have to destroy a monster when using 'Magical Dimension' it's optional. If you do choose to destroy a monster, then it's resolved at the same time as the rest of 'Magical Dimension's' effect. Because you select which monster to destroy when 'Magical Dimension' resolves, (not when it's activated) 'Magical Dimension' does not target. You cannot activate 'Magical Dimension' unless you have a Spellcaster-Type monster in your hand that can be Special Summoned with its effect. If your opponent activates 'Magical Dimension' and chooses not to destroy a monster on the field, then you can activate 'Torrential Tribute' or 'Bottomless Trap Hole' to destroy the Special Summoned Spellcaster. If your opponent does decide to destroy a monster, then you cannot activate these cards because the last thing to happen was not a monster being Summoned. So you have missed the timing. You only need a Spellcaster-Type monster on the field when you activate 'Magical Dimension', not when it resolves. If your opponent chains an effect to destroy your Spellcasters, or flip them face-down, 'Magical Dimension' still resolves as normal. Also note that you can Tribute your only Spellcaster for 'Magical Dimension's' effect and the rest of 'Magical Dimension' will still resolve properly. You cannot Tribute a monster for 'Magical Dimension' that is 'unaffected by Spell Cards' since Tributing is part of the effect of 'Magical Dimension' (not a cost). If the only monster on your side of the field is 'Gemini Elf' while 'Non-Spellcasting Area' is active, then you could not activate 'Magical Dimension'. If you Special Summon 'Dark Magician of Chaos' with 'Magical Dimension', then decide to destroy 1 monster on the field, then you will NOT get the effect of 'Dark Magician of Chaos' because it misses the timing. If you choose not to destroy a monster, however, then his effect will activate. (See rulings for 'Dark Magician of Chaos'). You can Tribute a monster that was targeted by 'Soul Exchange' for 'Magical Dimension'. You cannot chain 'My Body as a Shield' to 'Magical Dimension', since destroying a monster on the field is optional. If you Summon a monster like 'Skilled Dark Magician' and the opponent activates 'Bottomless Trap Hole', you can chain 'Magical Dimension' to Tribute 'Skilled Dark Magician' and Special Summon another Spellcaster from your hand. This new monster will NOT be destroyed by 'Bottomless Trap Hole'. [Re: Destruction Jammer] 'Destruction Jammer' cannot be chained to effects that may or may not destroy a monster, like 'Acid Trap Hole', 'Blowback Dragon', 'Magical Dimension', 'Reign-Beaux, Overlord of Dark World', 'Snipe Hunter', etc. [Re: Prime Material Dragon] You cannot chain 'Prime Material Dragon's' effect to 'Magical Dimension', since destroying a monster on the field is optional.
Champion Pack: Game 2
Activate only while there is a face-up Spellcaster-Type monster(s) on your side of the field. Tribute 1 monster and Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your hand. Then you can destroy 1 monster on the field.